School Logo

Meet the Governors

Jonathan Hazelwood Chair of Governors
Hayley Pratley Staff Governor
Sam Price Head Teacher
Lynne Pemberton LA Governor
Rev Canon Richard Thorniley Foundation Governor
Derek Ferguson Parent Governor
Nicola Gossage Parent Governor
Rhona Cresswell Clerk to Governing Body
Saskia Bakker Co-opted Governor
Martin Fairhurst  Parent Governor
Maggie Barlow Co-opted Governor
John Huxley Parent Governor

4 parent governors




Derek Ferguson elected December 2018

Nicola Gossage elected December 2018

John Huxley elected September 2019

Martin Fairhurst elected September 2019

1 Local Authority gov

Lynne Pemberton

November 2017

2 staff gov  HT


Sam Price

Hayley Pratley

September 2016

elected September 2014

3 co-opted gov

Jonathan Hazelwood 

Saskia Bakker appointed December 2018

Maggie Barlow October 2019

2 foundation gov


Rev Richard Thorniley



Total 12 governors

Clerk to governors: Rhona Cresswell


Governor Responsibilities

Appeals committee [Staffing]

Chaired by Rev Richard Thorniley

 Jonathan Hazelwood

Governor visits

Sam Price



once per month


Heads Performance Review Committee

Chaired by Rev Richard Thorniley.

Nicola Gossage

Jane Howard SIA

Liaison with Church Lench School Friends

Jonathan Hazelwood

Minutes of FGB meetings to be emailed by Clerk

Disability Equality


Chaired by Sam Price, Jonathan Hazelwood

Lynne Pemberton

Early Years

Maggie Barlow 


E safety-Governor

Martin Fairhurst 


Health and Safety


Nicola Gossage

Hearings Committee [for children]

Chaired by Rev Thorniley, Jonathan Hazelwood

Sam Price


Saskia Bakker


Martin Fairhurst


Derek Ferguson


Saskia Bakker

  Assessment  Derek Ferguson

RE+Collective worship

Reverend Richard Thorniley

Safeguarding children

Jonathan Hazelwood/ Lynne Pemberton


John Huxley 

  PSHE/ Anti Bullying   Lynne Pemberton

Special Needs, gifted and talented


Staff Pay Policy Committee

Jonathan Hazelwood

Nicola Gossage, Reverend Richard Thorniley, Lynne Pemberton 


Governor Attendance Summary 2018-19


The school is governed by twelve governors including the Head Teacher and one member of staff.
The Governing Body act as a link between the Local Education Authority, the parents, the Church, the local community, and the school.
The governors are responsible for establishing the aims and policies of the school, implementing the school budget and ensuring that the National Curriculum is taught.
Their aim is to support the school and its staff in all aspects of school life.



We keep all of the governor minutes in school. If you need to contact us regarding these please call the school office. Thank you

Contact us


To contact the School Governing Body please email;


Jonathan Hazlewood (Chair of Governors)

[email protected]